Jazz Tuesday: Dave Brubeck – Take Five

I think this is possibly the first Jazz record I ever heard. I don’t know for sure, but as soon as I played it while on my search for music, it all seemed so familiar. I have a feeling that a lot of you reading this will know it too, and there’s a good reason for this.

 

Take Five is from the Dave Brubeck Quartet album ‘Time Out’ which is noted as being the first Jazz album in history to sell over 1 million copies. So it is kind of a big deal.

Dave Brubeck himself is a huge deal. He has performed in front of 8 US presidents, and has performed along side all the legends.

Sadly Dave Brubeck passed away December 5th 2012, but all his music, but ‘Time Out’ in particular will always be on record as one of the best.

 

“Once when asked how I would like to be remembered, I answered, ‘As someone who opened doors,’”

 

I hope you like this.

 

J

Leave a Reply

