Study Music Tuesday: Grooploop – Merry Go Round Of Life

If anybody is a fan of anime, they may vaguely recognize this song. I have the DVD but haven’t watched it yet despite being begged to by various sources. Having received it as a gift from Karina, I have no excuse to watch it, and I think I might if the music is like this. I’m talking about ‘Howls Moving Castle’ and this is a jazz version of the opening theme music from it. I managed to find it by searching for music for the hotel restaurant in the evening and chanced upon finding Grooploop. I need to get the album this is on, as there are a few tracks on it that are so relaxing. I am completely uneducated on Jazz music, and I don’t really know where to start learning. I was lucky enough to go to Ronnie Scotts jazz bar in Soho about 18 months ago and got to see McCoy Tyner, and while me and the family had no idea who he was, he came out to a standing applause and apparently he’s one of the first jazz pianists in the US. Crazy and I was absolutely clueless.
Anyway, regardless of how little I know about jazz, I like this and that’s all that matters. I hope you enjoy it.

J

Leave a Reply

