Hangover Sunday: Kings Of Convenience – Once Around The Block

I didn’t wake up with a hangover Sunday morning, I was still feeling whatever happened Saturday night. Sobered up by the time i got to Leicester. If I had my Ipod, I would have needed this.

I bring you a cover of Badly Drawn Boy’s song ‘Once Around The Block’ by a duo known as Kings Of Convenience. Once again I know absolutely nothing about this group, but I don’t need to. This version has a very different feel than the original, but personally I prefer this version due to it aiding my hangover, but that doesn’t take anything away from the original.
I found this short track because of Stephen Merchant. For those who don’t know him, he’s Ricky Gervais’ co-writer on Extras and The Office, has done stand up, films and is 1/3 of The Ricky Gervais Show. Back in the day when he had a radio show with Ricky (Karl Pilkington as their producer) Mr. Merchant played this as his selection. I can’t remember if it was under the theme ‘song for the lovers’ or ‘song for the ladies’, but either way, I thank him for sharing this, because now I can share it with you to use if you ever need it. Hope you enjoy it.

J

Leave a Reply

